Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for July 22nd, 2009

Hi everyone. Nathan shared something really encouraging and provoking with us a short while ago. I thought it worth reproducing here. Enjoy…..

HI GUYS, I STARTED TO WRITE THIS TO ENCOURAGE MY WORK COLLEAGUES BUT THOUGHT IT WOULD BE GOOD FOR EVERYONE TO HEAR ACTUALLY.  I’VE TAKEN OUT STUFF TO DO WITH COACHING BUT HOPEFULLY IT ALL MAKES SENSE AND ACTS AS AN AN ENCOURAGEMENT FOR ALL OF YOU.

Something I feel God has been speaking to me about is being prepared to be open to the Spirit not just in Church and at home etc but everywhere!  Now I know many of you are all great at this anyway, but it’s good encouragement for me, and it’s good to share anyway to help encourage you all as well.

I’m asking God to speak to me and give me little nudges so to speak whilst I’m in places such as town or on the bus, I’m asking for “Opportunities”…. And we all know what God is like – you ask and he willingly provides!

So, I’ve been on the bus talking and building relationships with people who most people wouldn’t want to be associated with, and I felt really strongly that all this is helping people to realise that there is something different to life as they know it – “Harsh, Critical, bullying etc” and we want to change that to a life full of  “love – honesty – Integrity – Peace – healing – Honour”.  My main saying in life is the popular WWJD (What Would Jesus Do) and I know this is what Jesus would be doing if he was on the bus.

Today on my journey to work this afternoon, I stopped off at Subway for my usual Thursday “Subway of the Day” Italian BLT.  When I sat down to eat it (which I hardly ever do), I overheard (not that it wasn’t hard because everyone in the shop could hear!) a conversation about the Holy Spirit’s warmth and calming Presence.

One of the people talking was a lady from Poland who recently went to Bath City Church and got touched so amazingly that she goes every Sunday, which she has never done before. The other person speaking to her was the guy who served me my Subway, asking questions relevant to her obvious new found faith.  He was a great guy and someone I’ve respected over the last few months because of his attitude and loving nature to customers.  You could tell he was also a lover of Jesus and was proud of it!  When the lady went, I pulled him over to my table and started speaking to him, letting him know I was also part of a church when he responded with a “wow! that counts 6 of us!”  Not only were he and the lady he was speaking to Christians, but so were the couple who had just bought their subway, and the girl assisting him and me!  And we weren’t the only people in the shop either!  I then went on to sharing with him something I feel God had given me because I was being open to the Spirit.

My point is, if we fully open our hearts, souls and minds to God’s will, he will take us on great supernatural journeys in “ordinary” life, which means, because we are full of God’s supernatural spirit, we are going to come across “different” to others and impact so many lives.  Hopefully in Subway today, it impacted the couple who were sat on the table next to me 🙂

I want to encourage you all to share stories with each other so that we know what we can pray for or come alongside you!  I’m going to try to do it more, as I’ve loved writing this because it’s building my faith right now!

I’m adding this in for fun factor but I love this certain phrase from a great movie (points for those who get the movie right!) which is a good motivation with my own unique twist.

“Feel the rythm, Feel the ryhme, get on up, it’s Jesus time! AAAAMMMEEEN!” (I know its a little pointless, but it made me chuckle when I thought it! hehe)

Take it easy

Nathan

Read Full Post »